The winners at the 8th annual Orange Amplification Classic Rock Roll of Honour have been revealed at a gala evening held at the Roundhouse in London on Tuesday November 13th.

The event was hosted by Duff McKagan (Guns n’Roses, Velvet Revolver, Loaded) with Motley Crue bassist Nikki Sixx presenting his Sixx Sense show from the ceremony.

ZZ Top (Billy Gibbons, pictured above) were presented with the coveted Living Legend Award by last year’s winner, Jeff Beck. The Texan three-piece join an exclusive club including Jimmy Page, Alice Cooper and Iggy Pop.

Among the other winners were Rush for Album of the Year and Band of the Year, Pink Floyd for Film/DVD of the Year and Reissue of the Year; Status Quo for Classic Album; The Damned for Outstanding Contribution and Rival Sons for Breakthrough. Anthrax were named Metal Gurus and manager Tony Smith was named VIP. The late Jon Lord was given the Tommy Vance Inspiration Award.

Lynyrd Skynyrd, who won the Comeback Award, played a 30-minute set for invited guests after a gala dinner.

Classic Rock editor-in-chief, Scott Rowley, said: “You would never know it from listening to the radio or watching TV – but while you were all getting excited about Psy and Fun and Nicki Minaj, it’s actually been a great year for new rock music. We’ve heard brilliant new albums from ZZ Top, Rush, Aerosmith, Kiss, Springsteen, Slash, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Van Halen.
Some great new artists are coming into their own: Rivals Sons, Tracer, Howlin’ Rain, Gary Clark Jr – the list goes on. Classic Rock is proud to keep on supporting rock music, classic and brand new, and the Roll of Honour has become an office party for the rock industry.”

Orange Amplification Classic Rock Roll of Honour 2012

The Living Legend Award (Sponsored by Orange Amplification): ZZ Top
Event Of The Year (Sponsored by Roadrunner): Ginger Raises £250k
Breakthrough Act Of The Year (sponsored by Olympus): Rival Sons
The Musicians’ Union Maestro Award: Phil Manzanera
Tommy Vance Inspiration Award (Sponsored by Lewis Leathers): Jon Lord
Classic Songwriter Award (Sponsored by Sennheiser): Russ Ballard
Outstanding Contribution (sponsored by Monitor Audio): The Damned
Classic Album Award (sponsored by Eagle Rock): Status Quo ‘Live!’
V.I.P. Award (sponsored by Tony Smith
Metal Guru Award (sponsored by Mascot Label Group): Anthrax
Best New Band (sponsored by Kraken): Tracer
Album Of The Year: Rush ‘Clockwork Angels’
Reissue Of The Year (sponsored by Alchemy): Pink Floyd’s ‘Immersion’
Film/DVD Award: Pink Floyd ‘The Story Of Wish You Were Here’
Band Of The Year (sponsored by Live Nation): Rush
Spirit Of Prog Award (sponsored by USM / UMC): Family
Showman Of The Year (sponsored by Rimowa): Nikki Sixx
Comeback Award (Sponsored by Jeffery West): Lynyrd Skynyrd

Pictures by David Phillips,

Duff McKagan

Rival Sons

Lynyrd Skynyrd

James Dean Bradfield

Jeff Beck


Rick Wakeman

Vic Reeves